top of page
Screen Shot 2020-06-18 at 7.33.50 PM.png

Valley City State University

Valley City State University

Grade Point 










Recognized as one of the top public regional colleges in the Midwest and one of America’s “Best Colleges” for 22 consecutive years by U.S. News, VCSU offers more than 80 undergraduate programs in art, business, communication arts, computer systems and software engineering, education, kinesiology and human performance, language and literature, mathematics, music, science, social science, and technology education. Online Master of Education (M.Ed.) and Master of Arts in Teaching (M.A.T.) degree programs are also available.

Founded in 1890 as a "normal school" (or teachers college), VCSU remains true to its heritage and has an outstanding reputation for producing some of the finest K-12 educators in the region. 

VCSU enhances the learning experience by providing full-time students with access to their own laptop, advanced multimedia technology, high-speed wireless networking, and classrooms equipped with the latest educational technology. A student-faculty ratio of 13:1 gives students one-to-one access to faculty in ways that are impossible at other universities. 

The 55-acre campus is bordered on the south by a forested hillside and on the north by the Sheyenne River. Campus architecture features a graceful blend of historic and modern buildings. The central campus is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as a Historic District, and in May 2017, BuzzFeed named VCSU’s campus the most beautiful college campus in North Dakota.

The university is located in the southeastern part of the state in the city from which the institution takes its name. Valley City has a population of approximately 6,500 and is located 58 miles west of Fargo on Interstate 94, making the campus easily accessible both from the east and west. Valley City was named Expedia’s “Most Beautiful Town” in North Dakota in March 2017.

Fully accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, VCSU is one of 11 institutions in the North Dakota University System (NDUS).

NDUS comprises four regional universities (Dickinson State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University and VCSU), two research universities (North Dakota State University and the University of North Dakota), and five community colleges (Bismarck State College, Dakota College at Bottineau, Lake Region State College, North Dakota State College of Science and Williston State College). 

The NDUS schools work cooperatively to provide students access to excellence and innovation in education.

Video Overview

bottom of page