top of page
Screen Shot 2020-06-18 at 7.33.50 PM.png

Northern State University

Northern State University


Grade Point 









Northern State University (NSU) is a public university in Aberdeen, South Dakota. NSU is governed by the South Dakota Board of Regents and offers 38 majors and 42 minors, as well as six associate, eight pre-professional and nine graduate degrees.

Northern State's campus occupies 72 acres (29 ha) on the south side of Aberdeen. The oldest buildings on campus were built on the green, and the campus has expanded outward since. The buildings where the majority of classes meet are the H.P. Gerber building, which houses the offices and classrooms for the School of Education, the Johnson Fine Arts Center, which is home of the fine arts department and also holds many level classes, and the Mewaldt Jensen building, which has 16 classrooms, 13 laboratories, and 60 offices which house the mathematics, science, and business departments.

The oldest buildings on Northern's campus are Lincoln, Krikac, and Spafford. Spafford had the first gymnasium and the campus' only psych ward, which was located on the fourth floor. Many people don't know about the fourth floor because it was closed off after various reports of paranormal activity. Lincoln was the first residence hall but is now known as the office of business.

The campus has six dormitories: Great Plains West, Great Plains East, Briscoe Hall, Kramer Hall, Wolves Memorial Hall, and McArthur-Welsh Hall. All of the dorms are co-ed, with McArthur-Welsh being the largest with 190 students. Accommodations include single rooms, double rooms, and suites which include a bathroom and a living room.

Video Overview

bottom of page